2018 CDT Exercise - Demand Management

It is expected that the CDT investment exercise will be in high demand. To reflect the level of investment available, and manage the impact on the community in assessing the large volume of proposals, EPSRC is limiting the number of outlines that can be submitted as lead institution. There will be no limit on the number of applications that project partners or eligible institutions can partner on.

Only successful outlines will be invited to submit a full proposal. The success of an outline will be based on their performance against the assessment criteria and the balance of proposals across the set of outlines under consideration. The overall number of outlines allowed to proceed will be limited to ensure a robust assessment of full proposals is possible. Institutional quotas will not form part of the decision.

Institutional allocations

All eligible institutions are welcome to submit one outline application as the lead organisation to the CDT 2018 call, with no restriction on applications as a partner.

The organisations listed below have been informed that they are able to submit more than one outline application as lead organisation. This follows consideration of both their EPSRC research income and their staff capacity in engineering and physical sciences areas. Allocations are given on a per institution basis and it is up to those organisations to consider how best to utilise it. EPSRC will not accept submissions over and above this. Institutions do not need to fully utilise their allocation. These institutions will also be asked to supply EPSRC with details of the outline applications submitted within their allocation.

Further information on this requirement is provided within the call documentation.

  • Aston University
  • Brunel University London
  • Cardiff University
  • City, University of London
  • Cranfield University
  • Durham University
  • Heriot-Watt University
  • Imperial College London
  • King's College London
  • Lancaster University
  • Loughborough University
  • Newcastle University
  • Northumbria University
  • Queen Mary, University of London
  • Queen's University of Belfast
  • Royal Holloway, Univ of London
  • Swansea University
  • The University of Manchester
  • University College London
  • University of Aberdeen
  • University of Bath
  • University of Birmingham
  • University of Brighton
  • University of Bristol
  • University of Cambridge
  • University of Dundee
  • University of East Anglia
  • University of Edinburgh
  • University of Exeter
  • University of Glasgow
  • University of Hertfordshire
  • University of Huddersfield
  • University of Kent
  • University of Leeds
  • University of Leicester
  • University of Liverpool
  • University of Nottingham
  • University of Oxford
  • University of Reading
  • University of Sheffield
  • University of Southampton
  • University of St Andrews
  • University of Strathclyde
  • University of Surrey
  • University of Sussex
  • University of Warwick
  • University of York