Centres for Doctoral Training

Centres for Doctoral Training (CDTs) are one of the three main ways by which EPSRC provides support for Doctoral Training. The other routes are the Doctoral Training Partnerships (DTP) and Industrial CASE Studentships.

EPSRC-funded Centres bring together diverse areas of expertise to train engineers and scientists with the skills, knowledge and confidence to tackle today's evolving issues, and future challenges. They also provide a supportive and exciting environment for students, create new working cultures, build relationships between teams in universities and forge lasting links with industry.

Students are funded for four years and include technical and transferrable skills training, as well as a research element. Many Centres leverage additional studentships from other sources (eg university funding, EU funding, industrial funding, private funding etc). EPSRC funds centres under an umbrella term Centres for Doctoral Training.