Mid-range facilities review consultation - outcome

EPSRC has been reviewing its support for mid-range facilities. The aim of the review was to get a good understanding of the UK need for such facilities for the engineering and physical sciences and to inform our longer term strategy for supporting these facilities.

Communities were invited to submit statements of need for facilities and a cross-programme panel was convened to assess the relative priority of these facilities.

Following the advice of the panel, EPSRC has identified the facilities that it will be looking to support in the future. We will be taking these forward in three phases:

Phase 1 (starting 2009/10)

  • Dark Fibre Infrastructure
  • Epitaxy
  • EPR Spectroscopy
  • Free Electron Laser Facility
  • National Service for Computational Chemistry Software
  • X-ray Crystallography Service

Phase 2 (starting 2010/11)

  • Chemical Database Facility
  • Engineering Instrument Pool
  • Mass Spectrometry
  • Materials Characterisation Facility
  • Solid-State NMR
  • X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy

Phase 3 (subject to outcome of spending review)

A number of other facilities were recognised by the panel as providing value to the research community, although were not deemed to be of the very highest priority. Final decisions regarding future support for these facilities will be made after the outcome of the next spending review is known. These include:

  • Atom Probe
  • Gas Electron Diffraction
  • Multiscale X-ray Imaging
  • Ultrahigh magnetic field
  • Wave Testing
  • XMaS

The relevant programmes will be developing the scopes of the facilities to be taken forward in 2009/10 over the next few months and will issue calls accordingly which will be published on our website in the usual way. Please note that we will not be accepting responsive mode proposals for facilities in the future.

For Further Information


The panel membership was:

  • Professor Julian Jones, Heriot Watt University (Chair)
  • Professor Neil Alford, Imperial College
  • Professor Ray Allen, University of Sheffield
  • Dr John Bagshaw, BAE Systems
  • Professor Richard Dendy, University of Warwick and UK Atomic Energy Authority
  • Professor Jeremy Frey, University of Southampton
  • Professor Ken Grattan, City University
  • Professor Rob Hardeman, Seagate
  • Professor Peter Knowles, University of Cardiff
  • Professor Dewi Lewis, GE Healthcare
  • Professor Stuart Macgregor, Heriot Watt University
  • Professor Greg Tallents, University of York
  • Professor Julie Yeomans, University of Surrey