Healthcare Technologies Challenge Awards

This is the main route offered by EPSRC to support the most promising early career researchers in Healthcare Technologies.  There is no call for HTCAs in 2018, but the scope for future calls will be kept under review.

Scope of the award

HTCA grants are designed to support early career researchers to develop a personal programme of high quality, creative and multidisciplinary research, and to support and grow their research group.  They are intended to be a platform from which a broader funding portfolio can be built over the period of the grant.   HTCA calls do not define the scientific focus of the research.  The emphasis is on the leadership qualities of the applicant, both in terms of research leadership and team leadership.  The pathway to impact for the research in health is also important. 

A HTCA enables the most promising ECRs to grow their research groups and develop new capabilities which address long term health challenges and have the potential to become new centres of critical mass in multidisciplinary Healthcare Technologies research.  HTCAs recipients will have demonstrated through competitive peer review:

  • The potential to become a national and international research leader,
  • That they have ambitious but achievable plans for establishing collaborations which will develop and sustain their research team and agenda
  • They are able to take a long term and strategic view of their research.
  • They have clear plans for the creation and leadership of a strong multidisciplinary team, designed to implement their research programme and position them as a research leader.
  • They will use the flexible resources available to be deployed strategically to develop adaptable research strategies including high risk components, and to provide continuity in terms of people and resources.

EPSRC intends that as well as high quality fundamental research, this call will enable ECRs to perform research which is truly relevant to health practice and care through understanding and integration of user needs and consideration of the pathway to impact in health.  A wide range of approaches might be taken to ensure end user relevance of the research programme, including the formation of collaborations with clinicians, healthcare professionals and/or industrial partners, the integration of regulatory understanding and training, and/or the incorporation of user centred design, translational and manufacturing components into the proposed research.  This emphasis on end user engagement is a key component of the strategy of the Healthcare Technologies theme.

How to apply

HTCAs are awarded through specific calls for proposals.

There have been two calls for HTCAs. Nine HTCAs were funded through the first call and eight through the second call.

There is no call for HTCAs in 2018, but the scope for future calls will be kept under review. Please refer to the Calls section of our website for information on our calls for proposals.

Current HTCAs

  • Dr Sarah Bohndiek, University of Cambridge
  • Professor David Clifton, University of Oxford
  • Dr Adrien Desjardins, University College London
  • Dr Rylie Green, Imperial College London
  • Dr Ruchi Gupta, University of Birmingham
  • Professor Antoine Jerusalem, University of Oxford
  • Dr Maiwenn Kersaudy-Kerhoas, Heriot-Watt University
  • Dr Kianoush Nazarpour, Newcastle University
  • Dr Robert Neely, University of Birmingham
  • Dr David Nordsletten, King’s College London
  • Dr Frankie Rawson, University of Nottingham
  • Dr Silvia Schievano, University College London
  • Dr Rebecca Shipley, University College London
  • Dr David Smith, University of Birmingham
  • Dr Asier Unciti-Broceta, University of Edinburgh
  • Dr James Walsh, University of Liverpool
  • Dr Sophie Williams, University of Leeds