July 2012

Panel members
Name Institution
Professor David Emerson Daresbury Laboratory
Dr Simon Crampin University of Bath
Dr Charles Laughton University of Nottingham
Dr M Probert University of York
Dr Phil Ridley Numerical Algorithms Group (NAG)
Dr R Roemer University of Warwick
Dr Richard Sandberg University of Southampton
Professor Mark Savill Cranfield Unviersity
Principal investigator Project title Institution No. of Allocation Units (AU) requested
Professor Peter Haynes Pressured-induced structural transformations in nanomaterials Imperial College London 3,870,000
Dr Michael Hunt Accurate determination of the physical properties of defects in carbon nanostructures Durham 8,420,000
Dr Nedunchezhian Swaminathan Direct numerical simulation of multi-species fuel combustion Cambridge 31,505,000
Dr Matthew Juniper Global stability and sensitivity of fuel injectors: role of inlet geometry Cambridge 1,728,000
Professor Alessandro Troisi Understanding the relation between the morphology and the electronic properties of semiconducting polymers through large-scale simulations Warwick 5,560,000,000
Total (successful)   5 projects 51,173,000
Total (unsuccessful)   1 projects 27,000,000
Success rate   83.3% 78%
Dr Marc Eberhard Ultra long time window simulations of optical communication systems on General-Purpose computation on Graphics Processing Units (GPGPUs) Aston GPGPU Test bed