July 2011

Panel members
Name Institution
Professor David Emerson (Chair) Daresbury Laboratory
Dr Charles Laughton University of Nottingham
Mr Simon McIntosh-Smith University of Bristol
Dr M Probert University of York
Dr Phil Ridley Numerical Algorithms Group (NAG)
Dr R Roemer University of Warwick (NAG)
Dr Richard Sandberg University of Southampton
Professor Mark Savill Cranfield Unviersity
Principal investigator Project title Institution No. of Allocation Units (AU) requested
Peter Coveney Molecular dynamic studies of low salinity enhanced oil recovery mechanisms University College London (UCL) 3,086,611
John Hanna Gauge Including Projector Augmented Waves (GIPAW) Density functional theory (DFT) calculation of Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) parameters in hexagonal rare earth apatite materials designed for solid oxide fuel cell applications Warwick 8,170,000
Pietro Ballone Self-organised lipid layers on mercury Queen's University Belfast (QUB) 1,534,980
Davide Marenduzzo Colloids in cholesteric liquid crystals II Edinburgh 16,000,000
Philip Biggin Exploring a conformational switch in a macromolecule Oxford 2,835,439
Penny Scott Computational electron collision experiments using 2DRMP QUB 1,449,600
Oubay Hassan Gust generation modelling for aeronautical purposes Swansea 1,620,000
Total (successful)   8 projects 33,076,630
Total (unsuccessful)   4 projects 28,364,906
Success rate   66.7% 53.8%
Professor Paul Tucker Cambridge Computational Aeroacoustics Consortium (CACC) Cambridge 41,010,347 - top up