Twelve UKRI-EPSRC Council members appointed

Supplementary content information

Twelve appointees to the Council of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council have been confirmed by the board of UK Research and Innovation (UKRI); they will take up their posts following the establishment of UKRI on 01 April 2018.

EPSRC's Chief Executive and Executive Chair Designate, Professor Philip Nelson, said: I am delighted to be able to welcome both our new Council members and those who have been reappointed.

Their diverse range of skills and wealth of experience across academia, industry and government will be invaluable assets to EPSRC and UKRI, helping us to achieve our objectives and build upon the UK's world-leading position in research and innovation.

UKRI-EPSRC Council members appointed:

  • Professor Muffy Calder, Vice Principal and Head of College of Science and Engineering, and Professor of Formal Methods at the University of Glasgow
  • Ms Bonnie Dean, Independent
  • Professor Alison Etheridge, Professor of Probability at the University of Oxford
  • Professor Nick Jennings, Vice-Provost (Research and Enterprise) at Imperial College London
  • Baroness Pauline Neville-Jones, Independent
  • Professor Matthew Rosseinsky, Professor of Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Liverpool
  • Professor Sarah Sharples, Associate Faculty Pro-Vice Chancellor for Research and Knowledge Exchange at the University of Nottingham
  • Professor Mark Smith, Vice-Chancellor at Lancaster University
  • Professor Ian Walmsley, Pro-Vice Chancellor (Research and Innovation/Hooke Professor for Experimental Physics) at the University of Oxford
  • Dr Peter Williams, Group Technology Director and Head Of Investor Relations, INEOS Group
  • Professor Tim Whitley, Managing Director, Research and Innovation at BT
  • Professor Andy Wright, Director of Strategic Technology at BAE Systems

The members of the Councils of the Natural Environment Research Council and the Economic and Social Research Council have also been announced; the membership of the Council of Research England has already been announced, while those of the five remaining research councils will be before the end of the month.

The nine Councils of UKRI will play a critical role in our strategy development and governance. The Council members will work with their Executive Chair to deliver their Council's aims and objectives and to support UK Research and Innovation's overall mission to maintain the UK's world-leading position in research and innovation.

The Council members will also provide their Executive Chairs, and UKRI more widely, with input, intelligence and feedback from their communities and stakeholder groups. The Councils will act as critical friends to the UKRI Councils.

Professor Sir Mark Walport, UKRI Chief Executive Designate, commented: I am delighted to welcome these new Council members. Their stimulus, support and challenge will provide a critical role in the development of strategy and the governance of UK Research and Innovation. The diversity of their personal backgrounds, experience and expertise will ensure that we make the very best choices in how to invest wisely in research and innovation and develop capability and capacity for the future.

Notes for Editors

  • The appointments to Council are made in accordance with the Code of the Commissioner for Public Appointments.
  • All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees' political activity (if any declared) to be made public. No political activity has been declared by any appointee.
  • Appointees each receive an annual remuneration of £6,850 for their position on Council.
  • None of the appointees currently holds any ministerial public appointment.
  • Professor Smith has been appointed as Senior Independent Member with a direct communication channel to the Board and Chief Executive.
  • Under the HER Act each of the nine Councils within UK Research and Innovation has a Council comprising the Executive Chair and between 5-12 ordinary members. Council members are appointed by the UK Research and Innovation Board in consultation with the relevant Executive Chair. The Secretary of State may appoint one of the members, and is entitled to attend any Council meeting (or nominate a representative to attend).

Reference: PN 13-18