UK ICT Pioneers Competition: shortlisted candidates announced and IET joins the initiative

Supplementary content information

We are pleased to be able to welcome the Institution of Engineering and Technology as joining the current sponsors of this initiative which are BCS, HP, EPSRC, ARM and Imagination Technologies.

The shortlist for the 2011 UK ICT Pioneers competition has been announced for the research exhibition and awards reception on the 23 March at Church House Conference Centre.

The event will feature a guest presentation from Dr Siavash Mahdavi who, after completing a PhD in Evolutionary Robotics at an EPSRC funded Doctoral Training Center at University College London (UCL) and has since gone on to start a successful spin-out company, Complex Matters.

Shortlisted Candidates

Connected World

  • Syed Faraz Hasan, University of Ulster: Vehicular Communications for Passenger Safety and Broadband services
  • Peter McNerney, University of Manchester: Integrating Security and Quality of Service in a Smart City Environment
  • Sithamparanathan Sabesan, University of Cambridge: Low-Cost Ubiquitous Passive RFID Real Time Location Sensing System
  • Vit Sipal, University of Oxford: Ultrawideband Radio

Information Tsunami

  • Norberto Amaya, University of Essex: Architectures on Demand with Elastic Resource Allocation Support for Future Optical Internet
  • Reza Ghaffari, University of Warwick: Action Based Email
  • Behrad Gholipour, University of Southampton: Chalcogenides for the Future
  • Jing Wang, University of Huddersfield: Computer Vision-based Event Detection

Innovation for Sustainability

  • Davide Anastasia, UCL: Error tolerant software adaptation of signal processing systems
  • Alexey Denisov, Imperial College London: PEANUT - PErsonal Actuator N-ergized by Ultrasonic Transfer
  • Robina Hetherington, The Open University: Software to enable the holistic design of low carbon buildings
  • Jens Enzo Nyby Christensen, University of Cambridge: Acoustic Pulse Recognition

Technology Everywhere

  • Pedro Costa, Imperial College London: A Framework for Quality of Experience enhancing Systems
  • Lu Feng, University of Oxford: Making Smart Devices more Reliable
  • Rose Johnson, The Open University: How Real Time Feedback can Transform Learning
  • Zdenek Kalal, University of Surrey: Predator: A Smart Camera that Learns from Experience

Transforming Society

  • Priya Dey, University of Sheffield: A Talking Head for Speech Tutoring
  • Tom Kelly, University of Glasgow: City Sculpt Glasgow
  • Javid Khan, Heriot Watt University: Holographic 3D Displays
  • David Taylor, University of Wales, Newport: Design for Ageing Well

UK ICT Pioneers Competition: Awards Reception and Research Exhibition

Wednesday 23 March 2011
Church House Conference Centre, Westminster

(Research exhibition from 16:00 - Awards from 18:00)

The UK ICT Pioneers competition aims to recognise the most exceptional UK PhD students in ICT-related topics (including computer science, electronics, communications and photonics) who can innovatively demonstrate the exploitation potential of their research. This event, hosted by Professor David Delpy Chief executive, EPSRC) will showcase the shortlisted candidates, who will then present their research ideas to a panel of academic and industry experts (Chaired by Dave Watson, EPSRC Council and IBM) to win cash prizes of £2,000 donated by the industry sponsors.

Key representatives from industry, academia, media and local government are invited to meet the future ICT pioneers, in the presence of Government Ministers (invited and to be confirmed) from the Department of Business Innovation and Skills (now the Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy [BEIS]).

Competition Categories:

  1. Technology Everywhere
  2. Innovation for Sustainability
  3. Transforming Society
  4. Information Tsunami
  5. Connected World

Please confirm your attendance by emailing