David Delpy announced as Chairman of the Strategic Advisory Board for UK National Quantum Technologies Programme

Supplementary content information

portrait image of Professor David Delpy

David Delpy, who has been appointed Chairman of the UK National Quantum Technologies Programme Strategic Advisory Board

On 07 March 2014, EPSRC - as part of the UK National Quantum Technologies Programme - held a briefing workshop for the applicants to the current call for a National Network of Quantum Technology Hubs. EPSRC staff were joined at the event by colleagues from Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (now the Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy [BEIS]), Technology Strategy Board, Defence Science and Technology Laboratory, National Physical Laboratory and Communications-Electronics Security Group, and outlined the vision and rationale for creating the national network of Quantum Technology Hubs. Applicants were taken through specific aspects of the application and strategic peer review process, had the opportunity to ask questions of EPSRC staff, and engage in important networking and consortium-building with their peers.

During the day, Dr. Sue Armfield (BIS) was pleased to announce that outgoing EPSRC Chief Executive, Professor David Delpy, has been appointed by David Willetts as Chairman of the UK National Quantum Technologies Programme Strategic Advisory Board.

A copy of the slides used on the day, and answers to some frequently-asked questions, have now been made available on the EPSRC website.

Members of the community who are interested in finding out more about the proposed Quantum Technology Hubs are encouraged to make contact with the Directors of the Hub bids, listed below. The proposed Hubs are still finalising their bidding consortia, and should remain open to exploring new collaborations and expertise.

Principal Investigator Name Institution Hub Bid Title
Professor Jeremy O’Brien University of Bristol Quantum Technologies - Quantum Computation Hub
Jonathan Knight University of Bath Quantum Systems Engineering
Professor Timothy Spiller The University of York Quantum Communications Technologies
Elham Kashefi University of Edinburgh Embedding Quantum Computation in Science, Technology and Business Practice
Kishan Dholakia University of St Andrews Quantum sensing and metrology based on levitated optomechanics
Kai Bongs University of Birmingham Quantum Sensors
Yuri Pashkin Lancaster University North-West Quantum Sensors Hub
Professor Miles Padgett University of Glasgow Quantum Enhanced Imaging
Alexey Kavokin University of Southampton Quantum simulations with polaritons and cold atoms
Dr Mete Atature University of Cambridge Centre for Solid-State Quantum Communications and Sensors (Comm&Sense)
Professor Jason Ralph University of Liverpool Quantum Applied Sciences and Technology for Defence (QAST-D)
Professor Ian Walmsley The University of Oxford Quantum 2020: Scalable quantum networks for computation, simulation, sensing and communications
John J. L. Morton University College London Electronic quantum technologies
Janet Anders University of Exeter Quantum Thermodynamics for Advanced Data Storage
Dr Phil Buckle Cardiff University IQUEST: Hub for Industrial Quantum Engineering Science & Technology
Edward A Hinds Imperial College London Quantum Institute for Precise Measurement and Timing
Professor Steve Wilks Swansea University Q-SuBLiME: Quantum Technology Hub for Sensing and metrology in BioLogy and Medicine
Laurence Eaves University of Nottingham Multilayers and Arrays for Quantum Information Technologies (MAQIT)