Support for outstanding early career scientists in 2016 Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowships

Supplementary content information

Photo of Dr Anna Slater

Dr Anna Slater

The Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) will support two outstanding early career scientists who have been appointed as Dorothy Hodgkin Fellows for 2016.

Dr Alice Bowen and Dr Anna Slater are among 13 new scientists appointed to the prestigious fellowships by The Royal Society. The researchers appointed in the expanded 2016 Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowship programme will start their new posts at UK institutes from 01 December 2016.The Fellowships, inspired by the Nobel Prize-winning biochemist Dorothy Hodgkin, provides support for outstanding early career scientists and engineers who require flexible support. They are designed to allow Fellows to progress into permanent academic positions.

Dr Bowen is funded through EPSRC's Physical Sciences theme and will look to improve methods of the spectroscopic technique of Electronic Spin Resonance to allow for improved observation and greater understanding of large biomolecules at the University of Oxford.

Dr Slater is co-funded through EPSRC's Physical Sciences, Manufacturing the Future and Engineering themes, and aims to discover new functional materials through the utilisation of continuous flow chemistry at the University of Liverpool.

Professor Tom Rodden, EPSRC's Deputy Chief Executive, said: Our continuing partnership with the Royal Society is now in its third year, and during that time we have supported seven exceptional individuals through the scheme. The Royal Society - EPSRC Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowships are evidence of our commitment to supporting scientists and engineers in the early stages of their careers while also promoting equality of opportunity in the field.

The programme offers researchers the opportunity to balance work with other commitments, such as parental or caring responsibilities; claim back time spent deferring the Fellowship or working part-time at the end of the Fellowship; and claim limited funds for family support where these can be justified on scientific grounds. The 2017 programme is currently open for applications and will close on 24 November 2016.

The full list of 2016 appointees is as follows:

To be funded by EPSRC as Royal Society - EPSRC Dorothy Hodgkin Fellows

  • Dr Alice Bowen, University of Oxford
  • Electron Spin Resonance with Arbitrary Waveforms: Methods and Measurements
  • Dr Anna Slater, University of Liverpool
    High Throughput Materials Development in Continuous Flow

Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Fellows

  • Dr Kirsti Ashworth, Lancaster University
  • Air quality impacts of land-atmosphere interactions (AQuILA)
  • Dr Amy Bonsor, University of Cambridge
    Planetary Systems Around Evolved Stars
  • Dr Emily Findlay, University of Edinburgh
    Cathelicidin is Critical for Pathogenic T cell Development in Multiple Sclerosis
  • Dr Laura Lehtovirta-Morley, University of Aberdeen
    Redefining the terrestrial nitrogen cycle from cells to soil
  • Dr Rachel Lowe, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
    Modelling the impact of global environmental change on vector-borne disease risk
  • Dr Celia Martin Puertas, Royal Holloway, University of London
  • Evaluating the effects of a future Grand Solar Minimum on European Climate
  • Dr Richard Parker, Liverpool John Moores University
    Star formation: linking galaxy evolution with planetary systems
  • Dr Tiffany Taylor, University of Bath
  • The Role of Genetic and Environmental Drivers in Novel Gene Regulator Recruitment
  • Dr Maria Ubiali, University of Cambridge
  • Precise theoretical predictions for the full exploitation of LHC Run II
  • Dr Anne-Laura van Harmelen, University of Cambridge
    The neurobiology of resilience after child maltreatment
  • Dr Sarah White, University College London
    Exploring heterogeneity in implicit mentalizing and its consequences in autism

For further information on any of the projects listed above or to arrange interviews with the scientists appointed please contact the Royal Society press office.

Notes for editors

The Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC)

As the main funding agency for engineering and physical sciences research, our vision is for the UK to be the best place in the world to Research, Discover and Innovate.

By investing £800 million a year in research and postgraduate training, we are building the knowledge and skills base needed to address the scientific and technological challenges facing the nation. Our portfolio covers a vast range of fields from healthcare technologies to structural engineering, manufacturing to mathematics, advanced materials to chemistry. The research we fund has impact across all sectors. It provides a platform for future economic development in the UK and improvements for everyone's health, lifestyle and culture.

We work collectively with our partners and other Research Councils on issues of common concern via UK Research and Innovation.

The Royal Society

The Society's fundamental purpose, reflected in its founding Charters of the 1660s, is to recognise, promote, and support excellence in science and to encourage the development and use of science for the benefit of humanity.

The Society has played a part in some of the most fundamental, significant, and life-changing discoveries in scientific history and Royal Society scientists continue to make outstanding contributions to science in many research areas. The Society's strategic priorities emphasise its commitment to the highest quality science, to curiosity-driven research, and to the development and use of science for the benefit of society. These priorities are:

  • Promoting science and its benefits
  • Recognising excellence in science
  • Supporting outstanding science
  • Providing scientific advice for policy
  • Fostering international and global cooperation
  • Education and public engagement

Reference: PN 57-16