Royal Society and EPSRC announce Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowships 2014

Supplementary content information

The Royal Society has announced the appointment of nine new Dorothy Hodgkin Fellows (DHFs) for 2014. The Research Fellows take up their new posts at institutions across the UK from October.

The Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowship scheme supports outstanding scientists and engineers at an early stage of their career. It is designed to help successful candidates progress to permanent academic positions across the UK. It is aimed specifically at researchers who require a flexible working pattern and is particularly popular with female scientists.

The new DHFs are working on projects which include new physics searches relating to the Higgs boson and developing a 20-minute cardiac MRI examination for child patients.

Three of this year's fellowships are funded by the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) as part of a new collaboration to support Royal Society research fellows who are working within EPSRC's priority areas.

Professor Philip Nelson, EPSRC's Chief Executive, said: We are proud to be working in partnership with the Royal Society and supporting three Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowships this year. This collaboration means we can invest in the next generation of leaders and simultaneously promote improved equality of opportunity in science and engineering.

Professor John Skehel, Vice-President of the Royal Society, said: We are pleased to announce the first set of Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowships to be supported by our new partnership with the EPSRC. This partnership has enabled us to award three additional fellowships to outstanding early career scientists this year.

The full list of appointments is as follows:

To be funded by EPSRC as Royal Society-EPSRC Dorothy Hodgkin Fellows

Dr Cristina Manolache - Department of Mathematics, Imperial College London
Virtual Calculus

Dr Beatriz Olmos Sanchez - School of Physics and Astronomy, University of Nottingham
Long-range interactions and collective dissipation in ultracold atomic lattices

Dr Jennifer Steeden - Institute of Cardiovascular Science, University College London
Towards the 20-minute cardiac magnetic resonance pediatric examination

Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Fellows

Dr Lily Asquith - Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Sussex
New physics searches and Higgs coupling measurements with ATLAS

Dr Livia Bartok-Partay - Department of Chemistry, University of Cambridge
High throughput computation of phase diagrams

Dr Yaara Erez - MRC Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit, Cambridge
Focused Attentional States in Complex Cognitive Tasks

Dr Elin McCormack - RALSpace, STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory
Remote sensing of electric fields using Stark spectroscopy

Dr Amanda Sferruzzi-Perri - Department of Physiology, Development and Neuroscience, University of Cambridge
Materno-fetal resource allocation; altering placental endocrine function by IGF2

Dr Giulia Zanetti - Institute of Structural and Molecular Biology, Birkbeck College, University of London
Role of COPII vesicle coat in trafficking of procollagen and its regulation

For further information on any of the projects listed above or to arrange interviews with the scientists appointed please contact the Royal Society press office.

Notes for editors

The Royal Society

The Royal Society is a self-governing Fellowship of many of the world's most distinguished scientists drawn from all areas of science, engineering, and medicine. The Society's fundamental purpose, as it has been since its foundation in 1660, is to recognise, promote, and support excellence in science and to encourage the development and use of science for the benefit of humanity.

The Society's strategic priorities emphasise its commitment to the highest quality science, to curiosity-driven research, and to the development and use of science for the benefit of society. These priorities are:

  1. Promoting science and its benefits
  2. Recognising excellence in science
  3. Supporting outstanding science
  4. Providing scientific advice for policy
  5. Fostering international and global cooperation
  6. Education and public engagement