Impact Acceleration Accounts

Impact Acceleration Accounts (IAAs) are strategic awards provided to institutions to support knowledge exchange (KE) and impact from their EPSRC funded research. IAAs allow Research Organisations to respond to opportunities in flexible, responsive and creative ways, aligned to their institutional strategies and opportunities. Responsibility for management of IAAs is devolved to the institution to operate tailored schemes to facilitate the realisation of impact. The awards are intended to add value to existing funding and take advantage of new or unforeseen opportunities. IAAs are one of the funding mechanisms for supporting knowledge exchange, innovation and impact at UK Research and Innovation.

Research Councils with IAAs have the following common objectives:

  • strengthening user engagement
  • strengthening the exchange of knowledge through culture change and capability development, including through the development of skills for KE activity
  • supporting knowledge exchange and commercialisation at early stages of progressing research outputs and outcomes to the point when they would be supported by other funding
  • supporting new, innovative and imaginative approaches to KE and Impact, including processes that enable “fast failure” and appropriate learning
  • supporting activities that enable impact to be achieved in an effective and timely manner, including secondments and people exchange

EPSRC currently funds 33 IAAs across the UK, with a total investment since 2012 of more than £150 million.

EPSRC IAAs are held by the following institutions:

  • University of Bath
  • University of Birmingham
  • University of Bristol
  • Brunel University
  • University of Cambridge
  • Cardiff University
  • Cranfield University
  • Durham University
  • University of Edinburgh
  • University of Exeter
  • University of Glasgow
  • Heriot-Watt University
  • Imperial College London
  • King's College London
  • Lancaster University
  • University of Leeds
  • University of Liverpool
  • Loughborough University
  • The University of Manchester
  • Newcastle University
  • University of Nottingham
  • University of Oxford
  • Queen Mary, University of London
  • Queen's University of Belfast
  • University of Sheffield
  • University of Southampton
  • University of St Andrews
  • University of Strathclyde
  • University of Surrey
  • Swansea University
  • University College London
  • University of Warwick
  • University of York

Further information regarding specific IAA activities or how to apply for funding from an IAAs can be found using the above universities’ websites or by contacting the appropriate research office or IAAs account manager.

A call for IAA stories

We would like to hear about interesting case studies which demonstrate how you’ve successfully applied IAA funding to achieve different types of impact, for example societal, knowledge, skills, training, economic, or policy. Please submit your story using the SmartSurvey form below. A list of the questions contained in the Survey can be viewed here