We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.


Profiles of people associated with EPSRC including Fellows, Council members and EPSRC staff. Please use the filters to customise the listing on this page.

Sort by:

Professor Vernon Gibson is Chief Scientific Adviser at the Ministry of Defence and an ex officio member of EPSRC.

I am an EPSRC Research Fellow and former International Newton Research Fellow at King’s College London. I received my PhD from Technion (2011) and was awarded by Quantum Electronics and Optics Division (QEOD) Thesis Price for Applied Aspects (EPS).

  • July 2014 -- EPSRC fellow, University of Oxford (from 2015, JRF of Wolfson College, Oxford)
  • March 2014 -- Oxford Martin fellow, University of Oxford
  • September 2013 -- Postdoc, National University of Singapore
  • July 2013 -- PhD in Mathematics, The University of Nottingham

Mark is an Established Career Research Fellow, previously an Advanced Research Fellow, Director of the EPSRC Network on Computational Statistics and Machine Learning, Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, and recipient of a Royal Society Wolfson Research Award. He is currently an Executive Director of the Alan Turing Institute.

Professor Lynn Gladden is the Executive Chair of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) and was appointed in October 2018. Professor Gladden is the Shell Professor of Chemical Engineering at the University of Cambridge in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology, and a Fellow of Trinity College.

I am a Professor of Probability in the Department of Statistics and Tutorial Fellow at Lady Margaret Hall at the University of Oxford.  My research interests are in probability and combinatorics.  I obtained my PhD at Cambridge in 2004 and did postdocs at Paris VI, Cambridge and Oxford.  I was an Assistant Professor at Warwick 2009-11, before returning to Oxford to take up an Associate Professorship.  I was awarded the title of Professor in 2017.

I received degrees in Physics and Chemistry from MIT and a PhD in Physics from Cornell. After a postdoctorate at the University of Chicago and faculty positions at Princeton and the University of Arizona I joined the University of Cambridge in 2006 as the Schlumberger Professor of Complex Physical Systems.

Dr Kate Goldsworthy gained her PhD in Textile Design for the Circular Economy in 2012 from the University of the Arts London where she is now a Reader with the Textile Futures Research Centre. Her research focus is sustainable design, new finishing and production technologies and material innovation for the textile industry.

After receiving my PhD from the University of Brussels I moved to the USA where I spent seventeen years. In 2010, I joined the Oxford University where I am the director of the Oxford Centre for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, and of the International Brain mechanics and Trauma Lab. 

Paul currently holds the position of VP Engineering Thales UK a role in which he is responsible for around 2500 engineers and scientists working on a variety of R&D projects spanning Aerospace, Space, Security, Transportation and Defence sectors.

I started my academic career at Manchester, obtaining my PhD from the Physics Department of the University of Manchester's Institute of Science and Technology in 2005. I then began a post-doctoral position based at the STFC Daresbury Laboratory. In 2008 I moved back to the University to undertake a PDRA following which I was awarded an EPSRC Fellowship.

Duncan is Head of Pure and Applied Chemistry at the University of Strathclyde.

Patrick Grant became Cookson Professor of Materials in 2004 at the University of Oxford, is a Chartered Engineer (CEng), a Fellow of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (FIMMM), and was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering (FREng) in 2010.

Claire is a Deputy Director at EPSRC. She is responsible for EPSRC's Promoting Excellence in Research Delivery Plan priority, whereby EPSRC is focussing on a number of research delivery funding vehicles, particularly in relation to the fundamental research endeavour, to maintain and enhance the UK's ability to remain a world leader in engineering and physical sciences research and the technologies derived from it. Notably Claire has responsibility for Big Ideas, New Horizons and Centres of Excellence.

I studied Chemistry at Durham University, gaining an MSci in 2001 and my PhD in 2005, before going on to work as a postdoc at the University of Bristol. I was made a Leverhulme Trust Early Career fellow in 2009 before starting a EPSRC CAF in 2011.

Dr Rylie Green joined the ICL Bioengineering department in 2016.  She received her PhD (Biomedical Engineering) from the University of New South Wales, Australia in 2008.  Dr Green's research has been focused on developing bioactive conducting polymers for application to medical electrodes, with a specific focus on neuroprostheses.

In this Leadership Fellowship I am using high pressures and temperatures, to synthesize and study novel states of matter. I aspire to create and study novel dissipationless quantum states never observed before, namely a metallic superconducting super-fluid, in hydrogen and hydrogen rich systems using extreme conditions as a tool.

I completed my DPhil in Oxford in 2008 before undertaking postdoctoral and Research Fellow positions at Oxford, Durham and Princeton. I am now a Royal Society University Research Fellow and EPSRC Fellow in Oxford’s Mathematical Institute and a regular collaborator and lecturer at Princeton University.

Imperial College London

I moved to the UK in 2000 as a Marie Curie Fellow and worked on advanced laser processes for the semiconductor and photovoltaic industry. In 2009 I completed an MSc in Sustainable Energy Futures at Imperial College London followed by a UKERC funded PhD on the role of storage in future energy systems.

I have already developed to be a leading expert in application of network modelling and reliability analyses to power system economics, as evidenced by nine IEEE journal publications in this area between 2011-2013.

I am Research Fellow at Imperial College London. I worked at GE Global Research Centre as a Consulting Engineer before joining Imperial. My research focuses on the analysis and technology to support a low carbon electrical power network, especially renewable energy conversion, control, and network integration. 

A researcher with multi-disciplinary background, holding a PhD from Department of Life Sciences Imperial College London and a BSc from Renmin University of China. My transition from Natural Sciences to Chemical Engineering has led to a unique academic path at the engineering-science interface.

Dr Gupta is a Senior Lecturer at the University of Birmingham. She studied at Nanyang Technological University (Singapore), McMaster University (Canada) and University of Manchester (UK). Her research is focused on developing hydrogel-based optical sensors. She was a Lecturer in Analytical Chemistry at the University of Hull until 2016.

Graduated in Civil Engineering from Loughborough University of Technology, followed by PhD at the University of Birmingham. His academic career commenced at Heriot-Watt University, before moving to the University of Sheffield. In 2005, he became Professor of Civil Engineering, University of Warwick, returning to the University of Sheffield in 2018. 

Access Keys: