We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.


Profiles of people associated with EPSRC including Fellows, Council members and EPSRC staff. Please use the filters to customise the listing on this page.

Sort by:

John Leonard is an independent consultant now working to build collaborations across industry and academia. He was previously a Professor of Organic Chemistry at Salford University before working in Process Research at AstraZeneca. His main areas of expertise are: synthetic and process chemistry; catalysis; and laboratory automation and data handling.

John is a Director of Cadence Pharma Consultants, an independent consultant, working to build collaborations across industry and academia. He was previously a Professor of Organic Chemistry at Salford University before working in Process Research at AstraZeneca.  His main areas of expertise are: synthetic and process chemistry; catalysis; and laboratory automation and data handling.

Professor Steven Ley was the BP (1702) Professor of Chemistry. His title is now Director of Research and Professor of Chemistry. Steve obtained his PhD from Loughborough University with Professor Harry Heaney and afterwards carried out postdoctoral research with Professor Leo Paquette (Ohio State University) then Professor Derek Barton (Imperial College).

Qianqian Li is a lecturer in Composites in the Aeronautics Department at Imperial College London since 2013.  She received her PhD in Material Science and Engineering at the University of Edinburgh in 2007. She then did her post-doc at the University of Erlangen in Germany and was leading the research in the area of nanoparticle reinforced light metal composites.

Professor Chris Linton has held the post of Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor at Loughborough University since 2011, having previously been Dean of Science and before that the Head of the School of Mathematics.

Dr Chee Tong John Low specialises in ‘Electrochemical Manufacturing’ and ‘Applied Electrochemistry’. He joined WMG as Assistant Professor (2013) and leads research in Energy for Low Carbon Vehicles. He was trained as a Chemical Engineer (Bath, BEng 2004), then Electrochemist (Southampton, PhD 2007) and pursued postdoctoral activities (2007-13) at the Southampton Electrochemical Engineering Laboratory.

Owen heads the Performance Materials Venture Fund for Merck.

Gary Lye is Professor of Biochemical Engineering and Head of the UCL Department of Biochemical Engineering. He is Director of the EPSRC CDT in Bioprocess Engineering Leadership. He is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and of the Institution of Chemical Engineers. He was previously a member of the UK Government’s Industrial Biotechnology Innovation and Growth Team.

Graham has a BSc (Hons) in Physics with Astrophysics from Birmingham University and a DPhil from Oxford University with the title "Cataclysmic variables in globular clusters and low mass X-ray binaries".

University of Warwick

Jane Madeley was appointed the Finance Director at the University of Leeds in January 2009. After graduating, Jane trained as a chartered accountant and has an MBA. Prior to joining the University, Jane has held senior finance positions in businesses within the retail and fast moving consumer goods (FMCG) sectors, including Asda Walmart, Campbell Soup Company and Redcats UK.

Kathryn is Deputy Director at EPSRC. Working primarily on cross-council interfaces, Kathryn has oversight of EPSRC's Connected Nation delivery plan priority. Kathryn has a particular focus on Artificial Intelligence, Digital Economy, Manufacturing and SPF.

Candice specialises in Additive Manufacturing (AM) and was recognised for academic research with the award of the FAME Junior award 2011, the only UK recipient to date of this award. Her main focus is on polymer materials and processes, with a view to broadening the utilisation of the technologies across a range of industries.

David Manning is a geologist by training, now Professor of Soil Science at Newcastle University.  He holds an Honorary Chair in the School of Geosciences at Edinburgh University.  His research focuses on carbon capture in natural and artificial soils (carbonation and biochar), and on both shallow and deep geothermal energy.  He was Director of Mineral Solutions Ltd for 10 years, and President of the Geological Society of London from 2014-16.

Gavin works within UKRI Finance and is the Senior Finance Business Partner supporting EPSRC. He provides strategic leadership to ensure the finance function provides effective support to EPSRC in delivering its financial objectives.

Christopher Marrows is Professor of Condensed Matter Physics at the University of Leeds. Previously a Research Fellow of the Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851, his research interests span nanomagnetism, nanoelectronics, and spintronics, studying the phenomena that will underpin future generations of information technology hardware.

Dr Haydn Martin is a Senior Research Fellow at the EPSRC Centre for Innovative Manufacturing in Advanced Metrology at the University of Huddersfield, having completed his EPSRC in 2009. His field of research is in surface and precision metrology.

Lucy Martin is Deputy Director for Cross-Council Programmes with a focus on energy and decarbonisation and the Industrial Strategy Challenge Fund Faraday Battery Challenge. Lucy is responsible for strategic leadership and oversight of EPSRC’s environmental sustainability research agenda.

I am Senior Lecturer in Chemical Engineering and research new ways to measure, control and utilise multiphase properties in products and processes. My group use facilities across Chemical Engineering and Analytical Science and the wider University and make particular use of the Chadwick Building Pilot Hall where we can mix across bench to industrial scale with inline particle characterisation, spectroscopy and electrical tomography and also the Manchester X-Ray Imaging Facility.

Allan Matthews is Professor of Surface Engineering and Tribology in the School of Materials and Director of the BP International Centre for Advanced Materials.  He is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering.

Stephen McArthur is a Professor of Intelligent Energy Systems and a Deputy Associate Principal at the University of Strathclyde.

Dr McCalmont returned to university as a mature student following a career in commercial forestry. He felt there was a need in the industry for people who could understand the changing nature of UK forestry and public demands of it so he decided to study conservation and land management with the idea of returning to the industry following graduation.

Emma is a PhD student funded by the University of Birmingham to research externally manipulating collagen type I. This involves the use of inorganic ions and topographical cues to aid wound repair at different sites within the body.

Alison McKay is Professor of Design Systems in the School of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Leeds and director of the Socio-Technical Centre, a multidisciplinary research centre based in the Leeds University Business School.

I am an experimental physicist, working in the field of high power laser-plasma interactions. The award of an EPSRC Leadership Fellowship enables me to dedicate most of my time to research. It is also supporting two postdoctoral research associates (PDRAs) to work on new frontiers and challenging problems in laser-plasma physics. This has opened up promising new directions in my research.

Access Keys: