We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.


Profiles of people associated with EPSRC including Fellows, Council members and EPSRC staff. Please use the filters to customise the listing on this page.

Sort by:

University of Cambridge

Raechelle D'Sa is a Senior Lecturer in Biomedical Engineering at the University of Liverpool.  Her research involves the design of biomaterial interfaces for antimicrobial and tissue engineering applications. 

Professor Chris Dungey is the Director of the Joining 4.0 Innovation Centre which is a collaboration between TWI and Lancaster University focusing on the digitalisation of advanced fabrication technologies and associated manufacturing systems.

Dr Sarah Dunn is a Lecturer in Structural Engineering at Newcastle University. She has a MEng in Civil and Structural Engineering (2010), a PhD in Civil Engineering (2014) and has previously held an EPSRC Doctoral Prize Fellowship (2015). Her research revolves around infrastructure resilience and aims to develop techniques that can recognise vulnerable areas within infrastructure systems, identify fragile system architectures and establish methods that can help to protect them from hazard.

Robert Eason received a B.Sc degree in Applied Physics in 1975 from University College London, and a D.Phil in Physics from the University of York in 1982. He is a Professor of Optoelectronics at the University of Southampton, and the Deputy Head of School Research in the Optoelectronics Research Centre.

University of Oxford

In my PhD research I will explore the intersection of theory and practical implementation of energy flexibility to answer the question of how much energy flexibility buildings have and how novel control strategies could allow unlocking this flexibility to benefit the wider energy system.

Professor Alicia El Haj is Theme Lead of Bioengineering and Therapeutics at Keele. She is a leading figure in Regenerative Medicine and has been involved in bringing together interdisciplinary groups within biomedicine, physical sciences and engineering interested in aspects of cell and tissue engineering.

After studying Natural Sciences at Cambridge I completed a multi-disciplinary PhD at Imperial College, working at the intersection of microfluidics, synthetic biology, and soft matter. I was then awarded a Doctoral Prize Fellowship, followed by an EPSRC Fellowship, allowing me to undertake independent research into the construction of artificial cells.

Peter leads the Association of British HealthTech Industries (ABHI), the UK’s leading HealthTech trade association, representing 300 companies in MedTech, diagnostics and digital health. ABHI advocates industry’s needs at senior government level, supports UK market access, informs on commercial matters, provides regulatory advice, promotes ethical compliance and develops international trade opportunities for SMEs.

Suzanne Ellis is a Research Director in Johnson Matthey, focussing on building sustainable innovation opportunities in low carbon technologies and resource efficiency.

University of Bath

Alison is Professor of Probability and Deputy Head of the Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences Division in the University of Oxford.

Professor Brian G. Falzon is the Head of School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at Queen's University Belfast and is the Royal Academy of Engineering - Bombardier Chair in Aerospace Composites.

Peter Ferris is a Senior Strategy Manager working in the Strategy and Planning team within EPSRC.

Anthony Finkelstein is a graduate in systems engineering and a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and of the City & Guilds of London Institute. Formerly, Dean of UCL Faculty of Engineering Sciences, Head of UCL Department of Computer Science and Professor of Software Systems Engineering at University College London (UCL). Anthony is currently serving in the capacity of a Chief Scientific Advisor affiliated to the Government Office for Science.

Michael Fisher is Professor of Computer Science at the University of Manchester, holding a Royal Academy of Engineering Chair in Emerging Technologies, and is also an Honorary Professor at the University of Liverpool. His research centres on the safety, ethics, trustworthiness and verification of software, particularly within robotics and autonomous systems.

He co-chairs the IEEE's international Technical Committee on the "Verification of Autonomous Systems” and is involved in a variety of standards activities concerning robotics and autonomous systems, including with the British Standards Institution and the IEEE. He has also been involved in a range of public engagement activities.

Samantha is a Deputy Director for the Research Base at EPSRC. Her responsibilities include leadership in our Engineering, ICT, Managing the Portfolio and Research Infrastructure portfolios.

Jeremy Frey is Professor of Physical Chemistry and head of the Computational Systems Chemistry Group at the University of Southampton. 

Professor Sir Richard is the Cavendish Professor of Physics at the University of Cambridge and has considerable experience both within academia and also the world of business. He has pioneered the physics, materials science and engineering of semiconductor devices made with carbon-based semiconducting polymers.

I am a robotics PhD student at the University of Bristol. I've just completed my masters year, during which I was researching Machine Learning on crowdsourced data. Specifically around designing nanoparticles (tiny, tiny particles which can carry chemotherapy drugs directly to tumours) which is very expensive and time consuming. Thus finding a way to automate this would be invaluable to the research.

I am a Senior Lecturer in Engineering at Swansea University. My expertise includes smart manufacturing and sensors technologies, with emphasis on knowledge and information management, data analytics and machine learning. Before joining academia, I worked for a decade in industry in senior roles delivering, planning and coordinating software development projects. 

Professor Vernon Gibson is Chief Scientific Adviser at the Ministry of Defence and an ex officio member of EPSRC.

Professor Dame Lynn Gladden is the Executive Chair of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) and was appointed in October 2018. Dame Lynn, is the Shell Professor of Chemical Engineering at the University of Cambridge in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology, and a Fellow of Trinity College.

Jon Gluyas has 28 years’ experience as a geoscientist in the petroleum industry and a further 10 years in academia.

Access Keys: