We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.


Profiles of people associated with EPSRC including Fellows, Council members and EPSRC staff. Please use the filters to customise the listing on this page.

Sort by:

Jenny Cooper specialises in energy research and development management with particular focus on energy networks. She has over twenty five years' experience in innovation within the energy industry, with an initial focus on the electricity industry, developing into gas, short and long term strategic planning, environmental issues, new technology and increasingly all aspects of energy technology.

Rachel Cooper OBE is Distinguished Professor of Design Management and Policy at Lancaster University, where she is also Chair of the Lancaster Institute for the Contemporary Arts and co-Director of ImaginationLancaster.

Jon holds The Wolfson Chair in Biomedical Engineering in the School of Engineering at the University of Glasgow. He has interests in the use of micro and nanotechnologies in the life sciences (particularly in the areas of drug delivery and medical diagnostics). His Fellowship is concerned with the use of phononic crystals to shape acoustic fields and create new microfluidic flows.

With a background in pharmacology Karen has always had an interest in healthcare and in 2008 was appointed to a lectureship at Loughborough University within the Department of Chemical Engineering.

I started working with computer scientists and software engineers when I did my PhD with John Hughes at Lancaster. John pioneered the use of ethnography in systems design and I've been working on shaping computing around the social for the best part of 20 years now. I was awarded an UK Research and Innovation Academic Fellowship in 2006.

University of Oxford

University of Glasgow

A graduate of Bath and Lancaster Universities, Trevor has a PhD in compound semiconductors. He is a Fellow and a council member of the Institute of Physics.

Based at Heriot-Watt University, Dr Gerard Cummins holds his bachelor degree from University College Cork, Ireland and his doctorate from the University of Edinburgh, where he was the recipient of the Wolfson Microelectronics Scholarship. 

Professor Paul Dalby co-Directs the EPSRC Future Targeted Healthcare Manufacturing Hub, which works with over 35 industry partners to tackle the manufacturing and formulation challenges of biological medicines including engineered antibodies, gene therapies and cell therapies.

Richard Dale is Executive Director of Finance at Newcastle University, a post he has held since 2008.

Katie is Deputy Director for Partnerships at EPSRC.  Her main responsibilities are to provide strategic leadership for our partnerships with universities, regional engagement and international policies.

Rob joined the School of Engineering, Technology and Maritime operations at Liverpool John Moores University in early 2012 and teaches engineering design, design for manufacture and innovation development among other subjects.

Professor Darzi is Director of the Institute of Global Health Innovation at Imperial College London. He also holds the Paul Hamlyn Chair of Surgery at Imperial College London, and the Institute of Cancer Research and is Executive Chair of the World Innovation Summit for Health in Qatar. He is a Consultant Surgeon at Imperial College Hospital NHS Trust and the Royal Marsden NHS trust.

Nora de Leeuw is Professor of Computational Chemistry at the University of Leeds, where she also serves as Executive Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences. With a PhD in Computational Chemistry from the University of Bath, she has held academic appointments at Cardiff University, where she was Pro-Vice Chancellor International; University College London, where she also led an EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training; the University of Reading and Birkbeck College London, where she held an EPSRC Advanced Research Fellowship. Nora has been awarded a Royal Society Wolfson Merit Award, Royal Society Industry Fellowship and she is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, elected Fellow of the Learned Society of Wales and elected Member of Academia Europaea.  

Dr de Sousa has extensive experience in people, project and scientific leadership within the global pharmaceutical industry. He has delivered across all stages of pharmaceutical R&D including pre-clinical research, clinical development and regulatory approval and has had leading roles in the development of many new medicines across a wide range of disease areas.

Professor Charlotte Deane is the Deputy Executive Chair of the EPSRC and joins us on secondment from the University of Oxford where she is currently Professor of Structural Bioinformatics, and was Head of the Department of Statistics. Professor Deane is the UKRI director for the COVID-19 response.

Professor Delpy is a world-renowned researcher specialising in the development of techniques for the physiological monitoring of patients and especially the imaging of neonatal brain function.

Dr Christina Demski is a senior lecturer at Cardiff University where she is part of the Understanding Risk group as well as an Associate Director of the Centre for Climate Change and Social Transformations (CAST).

Dr Vimal Dhokia is an Assistant Professor in Engineering Design in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Bath, specialising in the interface between design and manufacture.

Sir Ian Diamond is Principal and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Aberdeen, an appointment he has held since 01 April 2010. He was previously Chief Executive of the Economic and Social Research Council and before that Deputy Vice-Chancellor at the University of Southampton, where he had been for most of his career.

After careers at Imperial College and Philips Research laboratories he was appointed to a University Lectureship and College Fellowship at the Queen’s College Oxford in 1988 and a Professorship in 1996. There he conducted research on nanoparticles, nanostructures, optoelectronics and biosensors.

University of Cambridge

Raechelle D'Sa is a Senior Lecturer in Biomedical Engineering at the University of Liverpool.  Her research involves the design of biomaterial interfaces for antimicrobial and tissue engineering applications. 

Professor Chris Dungey is the Director of the Joining 4.0 Innovation Centre which is a collaboration between TWI and Lancaster University focusing on the digitalisation of advanced fabrication technologies and associated manufacturing systems.

Access Keys: