Interaction with UK regions

We are committed to ensuring that the outcomes of our research investment help maintain the UK's research capability at an internationally competitive level. The most effective way of achieving this, alongside our commitment to peer review, is to ensure that we retain a national perspective.

These national goals for the UK's science and engineering base are not contrary to regional needs and priorities. In fact, EPSRC believes that our investments have a key role to play in enhancing research and innovation ecosystems at a regional level in order to ensure continued excellence at a national and international level. 

Recognising this, EPSRC have sought to enhance and broaden our relationships with our stakeholders across the UK through our Universities and Business partnerships teams, and most recently through the introduction of the EPSRC Heads of Regional Engagement (HRE).

Heads of regional engagement 

The EPSRC HREs have been created to further our knowledge of the local research and innovation landscape across the UK. These roles have focused on expanding our knowledge of emerging pockets of engineering and physical sciences excellence and developing relationships with regional stakeholders to enhance EPSRC strategy development. 

During an initial pilot phase of these roles, EPSRC placed four HREs strategically across the UK in the North West of England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales, to act as focal points for engagement with our local stakeholders. 

Due to the success of the pilot, further HRE appointments have been made across the UK, supported by the Universities team to cover non-HRE regions.

Contact details for HREs

Sinead Balgobin, Head of Regional Engagement West Midlands: sinead.balgobin@epsrc.ukri.org  

Marie-Louise Cairns, Head of Regional Engagement Northern Ireland: marie-louise.cairns@epsrc.ukri.org  

Nick Cook, Head of Regional Engagement Wales: nick.cook@epsrc.ukri.org  

Derek Craig, Head of Regional Engagement Scotland: derek.craig@epsrc.ukri.org 

Natalie Jones, Head of Regional Engagement North West: natalie.jones@epsrc.ukri.org 

Helen Niblock, Head of Regional Engagement North East, Yorkshire and Humber: helen.niblock@epsrc.ukri.org  

Joe Shearring, Head of Regional Engagement East Midlands: joe.shearring@epsrc.ukri.org

Contact details for general university and business enquiries

Universities team: universityinterface@epsrc.ukri.org  

Business and User Engagement team: user.engagement@epsrc.ukri.org