Terms of Reference

The Engineering & Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) is a committee of UKRI created under the Higher Education and Research Act 2017 (HERA) alongside eight other committees (henceforth known as Councils).

As set out in the Act, the EPSRC consists of the Executive Chair and 12 ordinary members. The Executive Chair is responsible for the development and approval of the EPSRC Strategic Delivery Plan, and is responsible for delivery against the Plans. The Executive Chair leads the Council and is supported and challenged by the Council's members. The 12 ordinary members are appointed by the Board, and the Executive Chair is to be appointed by the Secretary of State.

The full Terms of Reference can be viewed in the document available under the "Resources" section of this page.